Education is an Ongoing Process – enter Audiology Systems University

One of the best parts of my job is that I am continually offered new opportunities to learn new things; new products, new testing procedures, new aspects of our business. I’m encouraged (and love) to read new and exciting research articles, play with new hearing aid software, and think of new ways our audiology team can partner together with other departments on projects, such as writing new articles for publication.  Blogging absolutely fits into this new realm of education, as I have never participated in a blog prior to OTObiography…to be honest I’ve never quite understood how Milbien and the marketing team here at Otometrics\Audiology Systems  are able to connect all of the different aspects of social media, website “click backs” and e-blast strategies, so having this opportunity to work more closely with her on our mutual pet project is something I’ve been looking forward to for a long time.

Education is an ongoing process.  It’s something that I’m passionate about not just from a work perspective, but also in my personal life, which is why I have such satisfaction in coordinating our yearly student educational workshop, Audiology Systems University.  ASIu not only represents to me the start of a new generation of audiologists continuing education process., but it also represents a chance for me to continue to refine and define what it is new audiologists need from the industry to be successful, educated clinicians. This year, we had 24 students from universities across the country attend – check out the press release here for more information.  And if you’re interested in attending next year, please feel free to reach out to me at byoung@otometrics.com.

 

To the students that attended this year, last year, and our very first year in 2015 – thank you again for allowing me the opportunity to coordinate this event for you, because without you, there is no ASIu.  Not only have I continued to learn about what new graduates need from the industry and audiologists that have already entered the workforce, but I’ve learned more about myself and what I can accomplish. It truly is a pleasure to be able to host this educational event for you, and I’m already looking forward to next year.

To the hearing healthcare professionals that are already practicing – let’s remember the enthusiasm, focus and joy of being new to the field of audiology and do our best to be exemplary examples of continuing education and dedication to our craft.

Leave a comment